LessThanDot Site Logo

LessThanDot

A Technical Community for IT Professionals

Less Than Dot is a community of passionate IT professionals and enthusiasts dedicated to sharing technical knowledge, experience, and assistance. Inside you will find reference materials, interesting technical discussions, and expert tips and commentary.

LTD Social Sitings

Lessthandot twitter Lessthandot Linkedin Lessthandot facebook Lessthandot rss

Note: Watch for social icons on posts by your favorite authors to follow their postings on these and other social sites.

Highly Rated Users

Forum
No Posts Rated

Top 50
Given
Received

Links

Wiki
Blog

Forum Statistics

Users
Members:
1879
Members Online:
0
Guests Online:
19

Total Post History
Posts:
81451
Topics:
18716

7-Day Post History
New Posts:
0
New Topics:
0
Active Topics:
0

Our newest member
mwojcik

Other

FAQ
All times are UTC [ DST ]

How do you figure out how much bandwidth is used.....

Please wait...

How do you figure out how much bandwidth is used.....

Postby SQLDenis on Fri May 11, 2012 2:38 pm

How do you figure out how much bandwidth is used between 2 machines?

There are probably performance counters that will tell me how much bandwidth a box is using but what if I want to measure only the traffic coimg in and out from 1 machine to this machine...is there a toll/app for that?
User avatar
SQLDenis
LTD Admin
LTD Admin
LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467
LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467
LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467
 
Posts: 21784
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: Princeton, New Jersey, USA,World, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe and Beyond
Unrated

Re: How do you figure out how much bandwidth is used.....

Postby Remou on Fri May 11, 2012 4:05 pm

I guess you saw this?
Stop quoting laws to us. We carry swords.
User avatar
Remou
LTD Admin
LTD Admin
LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971
LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971
LTD Gold - Rating: 971
 
Posts: 5414
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:26 am
Unrated

Re: How do you figure out how much bandwidth is used.....

Postby SQLDenis on Fri May 11, 2012 4:13 pm

Figured it out, we will just use cacti since it is already monitoring that machine


http://cacti.net/


The question asked to me was not really what they wanted, cacti will do what they actually want
User avatar
SQLDenis
LTD Admin
LTD Admin
LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467
LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467
LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467LTD Gold - Rating: 3467
 
Posts: 21784
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: Princeton, New Jersey, USA,World, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe and Beyond
Unrated

Re: How do you figure out how much bandwidth is used.....

Postby Remou on Fri May 11, 2012 4:26 pm

SQLDenis wrote:The question asked to me was not really what they wanted


I want that on a t-shirt.
Stop quoting laws to us. We carry swords.
User avatar
Remou
LTD Admin
LTD Admin
LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971
LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971LTD Gold - Rating: 971
LTD Gold - Rating: 971
 
Posts: 5414
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:26 am