LessThanDot Site Logo

LessThanDot

A Technical Community for IT Professionals

Less Than Dot is a community of passionate IT professionals and enthusiasts dedicated to sharing technical knowledge, experience, and assistance. Inside you will find reference materials, interesting technical discussions, and expert tips and commentary.

LTD Social Sitings

Lessthandot twitter Lessthandot Linkedin Lessthandot facebook Lessthandot rss

Note: Watch for social icons on posts by your favorite authors to follow their postings on these and other social sites.

Highly Rated Users

Forum
No Posts Rated

Top 50
Given
Received

Links

Wiki
Blog

Forum Statistics

Users
Members:
1880
Members Online:
2
Guests Online:
69

Total Post History
Posts:
81452
Topics:
18717

7-Day Post History
New Posts:
1
New Topics:
1
Active Topics:
1

Our newest member
kwanail87

Other

FAQ
All times are UTC [ DST ]

model database

Please wait...

model database

Postby Thirster42 on Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:53 pm

I have a development server called devsql1. on devsql1 i have two drives, a c and a d. currently, devsql1 is installed on the c drive, and databases default to the sql server folder on the c drive. My question is, can i detach the model database, move it to the d drive, reattach it, and have all new databases default to the d drive?
Ask three DBAs a question, and you’ll get four different answers.

-Brent Ozar
User avatar
Thirster42
Guru
Guru
LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517
LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517
 
Posts: 4646
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: Jefferson City, Mo
Unrated

Re: model database

Postby gmmastros on Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:06 pm

Open SQL Server Management Studio.
In Object Explorer, right click your server.
Click properties.
Click on the "Database Settings" page.
Change the Database default locations.
-George
User avatar
gmmastros
LTD Admin
LTD Admin
LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630
LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630
LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630
 
Posts: 2369
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:19 pm

Re: model database

Postby Thirster42 on Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:16 pm

gmmastros wrote:Open SQL Server Management Studio.
In Object Explorer, right click your server.
Click properties.
Click on the "Database Settings" page.
Change the Database default locations.



oh yeah! i completely and utterly forgot about that! thanks george!
Ask three DBAs a question, and you’ll get four different answers.

-Brent Ozar
User avatar
Thirster42
Guru
Guru
LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517
LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517LTD Silver - Rating: 517
 
Posts: 4646
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: Jefferson City, Mo
Unrated

Re: model database

Postby gmmastros on Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:22 pm

No problem. Glad it helped.
-George
User avatar
gmmastros
LTD Admin
LTD Admin
LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630
LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630
LTD Gold - Rating: 1630LTD Gold - Rating: 1630
 
Posts: 2369
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:19 pm
Unrated